Thursday, 12 February 2015

Jericho: Countdown to Oblivion — Chapter 8: Eleven Horns

     In the Book of Daniel, King Nebuchadnezzar calls for his magicians, enchanters, and wise men to interpret one of his visions. He then demands them to tell him his vision and its interpretation or else he will have them all burned in a fiery furnace. Bewildered by such ridiculous orders, none are able to do so. All except one man: Daniel.

     Daniel prays to God that He will reveal Nebuchadnezzar’s vision to him, and that night it is revealed to him in a dream. He then tells Nebuchadnezzar the vision and its interpretation. The vision is regarding five great and domineering empires of the world, Nebuchadnezzar’s Babylonian empire, and four future empires God chose to reveal to the king.

     Prior to Nebuchadnezzar’s Babylonian empire were the Egyptian and Assyrian (Sumerian) empires, which, combined with the five in Daniel’s vision, make a total of seven. The empires in his vision are the following:

1.      Babylonian, ruled by Nebuchadnezzar

2.      Persian/Achaemenid, ruled by Xerxes

3.      Grecian/Athenian, ruled by Alexander the Great

4.      Roman
. . . But there will be one more, seventh empire (this being the fifth in Daniel’s vision).

—Adam Cherrington, Jericho


No comments:

Post a Comment